The Classics Invade Austin Stages

Tutto Theatre Co. presents Black Snow, one of the many classic plays enjoying an Austin Revival. Planning on seeing it this weekend. Dustin WIlls is a boy genius.

Tutto Theatre Co. presents Black Snow by Mikhail Bulgakov at Salvage Vanguard Theater, one of the many classic plays enjoying an Austin Revival. I'm planning on seeing it this weekend. Dustin Wills is a boy genius.

Robert Faires has a piece in the Chronicle about the strange summer of Austin classic theatre revivals.  It did seem a weird and I found sad occurrence that brilliant, new shows like The Long Now, had so many empty seats while Noel Coward’s Hay Fever was selling out every night over at City Theater. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad that anyone comes out to see theatre at all, and I certainly don’t think that City didn’t deserve those full houses, but it just seemed odd.  Before I even moved here, I knew that Austin had a reputation for new works, original plays.  Its nice though, I suppose, to see balance come into the scene.  As Robert says, “To my mind, having classic plays be well represented on our local stages helps make for a well-rounded theatrical diet, is good for our cultural literacy, and helps the theatre artists who produce them exercise artistic muscles that just don’t get a workout in contemporary plays, but mostly I believe they’re just valuable for what they tell us about ourselves.”

I’m especially glad that there is so much Shakespeare in town.  And, that is isn’t all coming out of ASF.   Just sayin.’

UPDATE:  On that note, Robert Faires himself can now be seen doing a one-man version of Henry V at the Off Center.  Here are reviews by Michael Miegs and Travis Bedard.  This is what I’m talking about.  Sounds incredible.

That being said, I’m going to the first read-thru of an EXCITING NEW ORIGINAL WORK tonight.  I will tell you all about it soon enough. Hold on lil chickens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin Theater

Leave a Reply

