Frog Prince Post-show Hilarity #2

Guess who's coming to dinner?

Jose Villarreal as the King in Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?

We did two extra weekday shows this week for summer camps.  They bussed them in from all over and there were hundreds of kids in their respective camp colored t-shirts filling the house.  Because of the sheer volume of kids, we opted to not do post-show autographs.  Instead, the cast stood in the lobby and waved and said our goodbyes and thank yous to the kids as they left.  One group of mostly little girls stood waiting to go, staring at me, little faces shining.  I said, “Does anybody want a hug?” and suddenly they all ran forward and threw their little arms around me.  Its like I was wearing a huge hoop skirt made of little girls.  It was awesome.  I looked to my left at Jose, who stood there all alone.

He said,”What? No hugs for the king?”

A little boy shrugged, then slumped against him, arms limply hugging his waist.

As we walked back to the dressing rooms Jose says, “New high point of my life, I got pity-hugged by a five-year-old.”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Frog Prince Post-show Hilarity #2

  1. doctorbacon

    Thanks for sharing that. I needed the ego boost.

  2. actresstx

    Its all to keep you in check, Jose. You were getting a little too big for your britches. And by that, I mean, your tights and jazz shoes.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Memories/Lingering Scars from The Frog Prince « Austin Actress

  4. janet

    awesome times 5

Leave a Reply

