St. Matilde’s Malady – Frontera Fest, short fringe Wed. Jan 13th

Hello lovers.  Hoping this long overdue post finds you happy and productive and warm.  In my own pursuit of these things, I’ve begun my new year with daily chores and salty whores.   But I now find myself two weeks into 2010, with no words at all for those that follow this little adventure I document here.   I have been busy.  I am always busy.  A Christmas Carol closed, the holidays came and went, and I began rehearsals for my first foray into Frontera Fest.  The play is an original work by Kyle John Schmidt and directed by Elizabeth C. Lay. “A swashbuckling new play about rage, love, and other sexually transmitted diseases.”  Its sort of a Tom Waits song come to life.  Whores! Sea Captains! Pirates! Mermaids! I play the brothel mistress, Connie, and I am having some fun with her.  Our team is comprised of UT graduate students and former Winedalers, and myself.   The only night of the Fest that has so far sold out.  If I were our competition, I would be scared.

ST MATHILDE’S MALADY!
January 13th only! A new short play with juggling and textiles!

Written by …Kyle John Schmidt

Directed by… Elizabeth C. Lay

Featuring the formidable talents of:
Talleri McRae …as Tammy the Juggling Prostitute
Chaille Stidham …as Molly Forge the Well-Regarded Prostitute
Jennymarie Jemison …as Connie the Madam
Bryan Gonzales …as Sampson the Young Sailor
Joel Osborne …as Captain Twister
Jenn Hartmann …as Dirty Vicki the Pirate

Get your tickets now for January 13:
http://hpt.buyplaytix.com/hpt/index_right?url=sf
TICKETS ARE SELLING OUT INSANELY FAST.

(FronteraFest Short Fringe is a month long festival of short plays (max 25 minutes). Every week, one play from each night advances to the Best of Week showcase, and thence to Best of Fest, and thence to apotheosis. And a tickertape parade. So I’ve heard.)

On the 13th, there’s a great line up of other shorts, including: Packing Memories, by Allison Orr Block, directed by Wendy Bable; Whistle, by Meg Haley (ASW Commission); Things in Life, by Ben Prager, directed by Wynne West; We Are All Volunteers, by John M. Meyer. This is going to be a rock solid night of shows you won’t want to miss.

2 Comments

Filed under Austin Theater, Performance

2 responses to “St. Matilde’s Malady – Frontera Fest, short fringe Wed. Jan 13th

  1. Rats! Wish I’d known before they sold out!
    MM

  2. actresstx

    I know! It sold out so quickly. Do you have tickets for the best of the week, just in case?

Leave a Reply

